About Institution

Our Mission : To contribute to the society by providing quality education and training, leading to innovation , entrepreneurship and sustainable growth.

Our Vision : A globally renowned institution of excellence in engineering, education, research and consultancy

The long cherished ambition of North Kerala to have an institution of higher learning in technical education was fulfilled through the establishment of the Government College of Engineering, Kannur in October 1986. The college is functioning in a large 75-acre (300,000 m2) unified academic complex, having sound and self-sufficient infrastructure, at Mangattuparamba, 15 k.m from the headquarters of the Kannur district.

The college is affiliated to the Kannur University. The college offers B.Tech Degree in five branches, namely 1. Civil Engineering 2. Mechanical Engineering 3 . Electrical and Electronics Engineering 4. Electronics and Communication Engineering and 5. Computer Science & Engineering . The present intake is 335 students per year for B.Tech. It also offers M.Tech courses in Elecrical and Electronics Engineering(Power Electronics and Drives) and Mechanical Engineering(Advanced Manufacturing and Mechanical Systems) from 2011-2012 onwards with an intake is 36 students per year.

Forums and associations functioning in the college, like Sports and Health club, N.S.S unit, Guidance and Counselling cell, Nature club, Cultural Center, Alumni association, science forum and staff club promote the co-curricular and extracurricular talents of students. Effective utilization of linkage between the academic complex and a wide network of industrial units in the surroundings helps the student develop practical skill and entrepreneurial potentiality. To sum up, the facilities available in the college help the students cannot mold their complete personality, both professional and character.

The long cherished ambition of the northern part of Kerala State to have an institution of higher learning in technical education was fulfilled by the Government of Kerala when it established the Government College of Engineering at Kannur in October 1986. The college started functioning in the Town High School, Kannur Campus.

The present campus of the college is located at Mangattuparamba, 15 km from Kannur Railway station on the National Highway 17. The foundation stone of the college main building was laid by Sri.K.Karunakaran, then chief minister of Kerala on 7 January, 1987 at a function presided over by Sri. T.M.Jacob, then minister for education. The first building that was constructed in the campus was the science block. The block was inaugurated by Sri.Pacheni Kunhiraman ,MLA and some classes were shifted to the present campus.The construction of the workshops and separate department blocks for civil, mechanical, electrical & electronics and laboratories were completed in the year 1990. The above complex was inaugurated by Sri.E.K.Nayanar, then chief minister of Kerala on 17 November, 1990 at a function presided over by Sri.K.Chandrasekharan, then minister for education in the presence of Sri.T.K.Hamza, then minister for Public works.

The main block, which is the largest unified academic complex in Kerala, was inaugurated on 1 June, 1999 by Sri.P.J.Joseph, then minister for education. All the classes were shifted to the new building with spacious classrooms and state of the art facilities. The new block is attached with Badminton courts & an open air theater .

Now each department has got separate computer labs & well stocked libraries with scanner & Xerox facilities, besides the central computer lab & Library.

The college website & 24 Hr. high speed internet connection provided by BSNL was inaugurated on 3 October, 2002 by Prof.M.Mahadevan, former Principal of GCEK in a function presided over by Prof.Antony Thomas, Principal GCEK and Mr.Jithesh Damodar, (S7 EEE) Mahesh Padmanabhan (S8ECE) and Sreejith Kesavan (S6 ME).

Silver Jubilee
Xplore 2010
Engineering Departments
  • Civil Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Electrical & Electronics Engineering
  • Electronics & Communication Engineering
  • Computer Science & Engineering
Non Engineering Departments
  • Department Of Mathematics
  • Department Of Physics
  • Department Of Chemistry
  • Department Of Economics
  • Department Of Geology
  • Department Of Physical Education