Research in EEE Department

Smiley face

The department is an accredited research center under Kannur University as well as APJ Abdul Kalam Technological University. The department has at present two recognized research guides under Kannur University.

Sl.No Research Guides Area of Research Phd Obtained from
1 Dr. Shahin M. Control Systems IIT Kharagpur
2 Dr. Jayaprakash P Power Electronics IIT Delhi
3 Dr. Baburaj P Control Systems IIT bombay
Faculty who have completed PhD degree and applied for guideship
4 Dr. Rajesh M Power Electronics IIT Delhi
5 Dr. Manoj Kumar MV Power Electronics IIT Madras
6 Dr. Saritha M Control Systems NIT Calicut
Faculty acquired PhD degree
7 Prof. Anilkumar TT Power systems NIT Trichy
Faculty undergoing PhD degree
8 Prof. Nisha B Kumar Power Electronics NIT Surathkal

The thrust areas are power system, power electronics and drives, control systems etc. Moreover, the department has many infrastructure facilities created for the research activities and some of them are listed below.

1. Roof top Solar PV station - 1.6kW PV Panel
2. Laboratory solar PV setup
3. Fuel cell experimental setup
4. Self excited Induction generator for Small hydro systems
5. Doubly Fed Induction Generator for wind energy applications
6. Two numbers of Dspace controller ds1104
7. One of Dspace controller ds1103
8. DSP and FPGA controllers
9. Intelligent Power Modules of Semikron make (About 10Nos)
10. Well equipped laboratories