Plenary Speakers


Dr. R. V. G. Menon

Former Director of IRTC and ANERT

Raghavan Vijaya Gopala Menon Born in North Parur, Ernakulam District, Kerala, in 1943. Educated at Govt High School N. Parur, UC College Aluva, College of Engineering Trivandrum, IIT Kanpur, Purdue University USA. B Tech in Mech Engg, M Tech in Nuclear Engg, PhD in Solar Energy. After a brief stint in ESSO Standard Oil Company, served as faculty member in Govt. Engineering Colleges of Kerala from 1965 to 98, and Retired as Principal, Govt. Engineering College, Kannur. Also served as: Director, Agency for Nonconventional Energy and Rural Technology (ANERT) Govt of Kerala (1988 – 90) Director, Integrated Rural Technology Centre (IRTC), Mundur, Palakkad (1996 2001)
He has also served as member of Board of Studies, Faculty, Academic Council, Senate and Syndicate in various Universities of Kerala Served as member of various Expert Committees of the Government and State Planning Board.
Has won a few awards like Prof. PT Kochunni Panicker Award for College Teachers, AMIE (Palakkad) award for Engineer of the Year, Bhoomimithra Puraskaram of Paristhithi Samrakshana Samithi Aluva, A V Puraskaram 2012 for Educationist, Puthuppalli Raghavan Memorial Award for Public Worker, IYA Puraskaram for Public Observer.
Research areas include: Renewable Energy Technologies and Technology for Rural Development.
Has published, in addition to research papers in the above areas, numerous popular articles on the interaction of Science, Technology and Society Author of ten books, including the following three in English: History of Science and Technology; An Introduction to History and Philosophy of Science; Technology and Society.

Dr. Sudha U. P. V.

Scientist E, Aeronautic Development Agency, Bangalore.

Dr. Sudha U P V is working as an Aerospace scientist in Aeronautical Development Agency, which is a part of DRDO (Defence Research & Development Organisation) , Under Ministry of Defence. She did her PhD in Aerospace Engineering from Indian Institute of Science Bangalore. She has been working in the design and development of Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) for the last 20 years. She has made very significant contributions to the prestigious LCA-Tejas national programme in the area of Aeroelasticity.
Her significant contribution to LCA programme is in the area of wake penetration which is a critical issue for an unstable combat Aircraft. Her immense effort in this direction has helped LCA programme in getting airworthiness structural wake clearance. She was responsible for the structural analysis and flight testing for air to air refuelling of LCA from IL-78 tanker which is a major milestone for Final operational clearance of LCA.
Another contribution is there in the design and development of Unmanned Strike Aircraft Vehicle (IUSAV).
At present Sudha is actively participating in the area of Aeroelasticity in the design and development of Advanced Medium Combat Aircraft(AMCA), fifth generation fighter aircraft.
She has published several technical papers in the leading national & international Journals on aircraft and conferences. She has presented papers during the International Conference on Aeroelasticity and Structural Dynamics -IFASD 2011, during June 26-30, 2011, Paris, France. and IFASD ,-2013 ,during June 24-27, 2013, Bristol, U K.
She is a recipient of Dr. Biren Roy Trust National award for the outstanding contribution in the field of Aerospace in 2018 from Aerosociety of India as well as Tagore Excellence award.

Dr.Axel Sikora

Offenberg University, Germany

Axel Sikora holds a master (Dipl.-Ing.) of Electrical Engineering and a master (Dipl. Wirt-Ing.) of Business Administration, both from Aachen Technical University, Germany. He is a DAAD alumnus from 1990/91 in St Petersburg Politechnical Institute. He has done a Ph.D. (Dr.-Ing.) in Electrical Engineering at the Fraunhofer Institute of Microelectronics Circuits and Systems, Duisburg, with a thesis on SOI-technologies. After various positions in the telecommunications and semiconductor industry, he became a professor at the Baden-Wuerttemberg Cooperative State University Loerrach in 1999. In 2011, he joined Offenburg University of Applied Sciences, where he now leads the Institute of Reliable Embedded Systems and Communication Electronics (ivESK). Since 2016, he is also deputy member of the board to Hahn-Schickard Association of Applied Research, a government-funded research institute in the state of Baden-Wuerttemberg. There, he now leads two engineering divisions "Embedded Solutions" and "Software Solutions". Since 2019, he is also affiliated to Technical Faculty of Freiburg University, allowing him to serve as primary Ph.D. supervisor.
Dr. Sikora is founder and head of Steinbeis Transfer Center Embedded Design and Networking and shareholder of STACKFORCE GmbH, an independent and successful spin-off engineering company around IoT connectivity solutions.
His major interest is in the field of efficient, energy-aware, autonomous, and value-added algorithms and protocols for wired and wireless embedded communication with a strong focus on end-to-end security concepts and implementations for the Industrial Internet of Things.
Dr. Sikora is author, co-author, editor and co-editor of several textbooks and more than 200 peer-reviewed papers in the field of embedded design and wireless & wired networking. Amongst many other duties, he serves as Chairman of the annual embedded world Conference (Nuremberg), the world's largest event on the topic, and as Scientific Advisor of the annual Wireless Congress (Munich) and of the annual IoT Conference (Stuttgart).

Prof. Donghoon Shin

School of Mech Engineering, Kookmin University, South Korea

Donghoon Shin is currently a Professor at School of Mechanical Engineering at Kookmin University, South Korea. He received his Bachelor in degree in 1991, Master degree in 1993 and Ph.D degree in 1998 in Mechanical Engineering from Korea Advanced Institute of Science & Technology, Daejon, South Korea. He has published papers in various international journals. His research area involves new energy and environmental technologies like coal/biomass reaction, fuel-cell system (reformer), metallurgy process (SAF), nano-particle (TiO2) generation and application for environmental purpose.

Dr. Aravind PV

Professor, Chair of Energy Conversion, University of Groningen, The Netherlands

Dr Aravind PV completed his MSc at the University of Oldenburg (Germany) and a PhD at Delft University of Technology, where he subsequently started his own research group. In September 2019, he moved to the University of Groningen to work, among other projects, on reversible fuel cells that can convert fuel into electricity and vice versa. And Aravind is collaborating with both the Hanze University of Applied Sciences and Noorderpoort College to train technicians needed in the energy transition.